3. Hradec Králové – Basic Information About The Town and University

3.1 The City of Hradec Králové

Hradec Králové has about one hundred thousand inhabitants and is situated at the confluence of the rivers Labe and Orlice about 100 km eats from Prague. It is mentioned among the oldest Czech towns as early as 1225. At the beginning of the 14th century it became the dowry and royal seat of Czech queens. That is why since that time it has its contemporary name “the Castle of the Queen”. The town itself flourished economically in the 15th century but later it was destroyed in the Thirty Years War.

The historical core of the town has had its major buildings: the cathedral of the Holy Ghost dating from the beginning of the 14th century, White Tower from the end of the 16th century, and the baroque Jesuit church of the Assumption of Mary the Virgin with a convent from the 2nd half of the 17th century. Towards the end of the 18th century the town was changed into a late baroque fortress. From 1884 the character of the town as a fortress was gradually transformed – the town got rid of the shell of the fortification and further possibilities for its development became available. Between the two world wars the town developed into the centre of modern Czech architecture.

After World War II Hradec Králové became the administrative and cultural centre of Eastern Bohemia – with theatres, galleries, museums, high schools and colleges. Besides the Faculty of Pharmacy it is also the seat of the Medical Faculty, Military Medical Academy and the independent University of Hradec Králové. About 4.000 university students attend classes in this town every year.

3.2 Charles University / Faculty of Pharmacy

Charles University, the first university established in Central Europe, was founded by Charles IV, the Czech King and Roman Emperor, in 1348. From the very beginning Charles University was characterized as a ”studium generale” and the King awarded it all the privileges enjoyed by the other old universities. At present Charles University has sixteen faculties altogether, out of which thirteen are seated in Prague while the other three are located in the distinguished important Czech towns of Hradec Králové and Plzeň.

The Faculty of Pharmacy, Charles University, with its seat in the town of Hradec Králové, was established by a government decree in 1969. This Faculty of Pharmacy has continued in the old and long-time tradition of the education of pharmacy at Charles University.

Pharmacy is a medical branch which is focused on the research, production, control, supply, and dispensation of medicines and drugs. It also deals with information about drugs and pharmaceutical functions, organizations, with the management of pharmaceutical institutions (social pharmacy), and with the historical development of the branch.

3.3. The course of study

Faculty of Pharmacy in Hradec Králové accepts within this network ONLY students of the last section of studies for laboratory work (diploma thesis project). The faculty does not accept students for studies of separate subjects!

The postgraduate (doctoral) studies

The graduate of the university course of studies of Pharmacy or of some related branch (e.g., Faculty of Medicine or Natural Sciences) can apply for admission to the three-year internal or five-year external course of postgraduate doctoral studies. The postgraduate course of studies is concluded by writing and defending a dissertation and passing examinations. The Accreditation Commission of the Czech Republic nominated by the Government approved eleven fields in which it is possible to obtain the academic-scientific degree of Doctor (PhD.) at the Faculty of Pharmacy, Charles University. They are:

  • Bioorganic Chemistry
  • Drug Control
  • Clinical Pharmacy
  • Gerontopharmacy
  • Pathobiochemistry and Xenobiochemistry
  • Pharmacology and Toxicology
  • Pharmacognosy
  • Pharmaceutical Chemistry
  • Pharmaceutical Technology
  • Social Pharmacy and Pharmacy Practice
  • Toxicology of Natural Products

3.4. The academic year

Schedule of the academic year

© 2023 Charles University, Faculty of Pharmacy in Hradec Králové | Website information