Rules for crossing the borders of the Czech Republic


Updated 20/09/2021

The Ministry of Health of the Czech Republic has updated the Ministry of Health with a list of countries according to the degree of risk of infection effective from Monday, September 20, 2021. Latvia, San Marino and Romania will be moved to the red category. The orange category will expand to include Iceland and Portugal, incl. Azores. By contrast, Slovenia will be dark red.

Hungary, Poland and the Vatican City State belong to the category of countries with a low risk of infection (green category). From non-European countries or parts thereof, Australia, Hong Kong, Jordan, Korea, Canada, Qatar, Macao, New Zealand, Saudi Arabia, Singapore or Taiwan. Japan will be eliminated from the green category from Monday, September 20.

Another category is countries with a medium risk of infection (orange category). This category of countries includes Andorra, Denmark, Luxembourg, Slovakia, Sweden, Italy, Iceland, Finland, Malta, the Canary Islands and Portugal, incl. Azores and Madeira.

When returning from green and orange countries, it is necessary to fill in the arrival form. Before entering the territory of the Czech Republic or no later than 5 days after entry, it is mandatory to undergo an antigen or RT-PCR test.

The traffic light also includes the category of countries at high risk of infection (red category). This category currently includes Bulgaria, Belgium, Ireland, Croatia, Cyprus, the Netherlands, Norway, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Latvia, Monaco, Germany, Estonia, France, Austria, Romania, Greece, San Marino, Switzerland and Spain, incl. Balearic Islands. The same rules apply for returning from countries from the red category as for returning from the dark red category.

Other countries fall into the category of countries with a very high risk of infection (dark red category), to which Slovenia will also move. Persons returning from the red and dark red categories must fill in the arrival form before returning to the Czech Republic and at the same time undergo an antigen or PCR test before returning if they use public transport to return. These persons are also obliged to undergo a PCR test after returning to the Czech Republic, no earlier than the 5th day and no later than the 14th day after entering the Czech Republic. Until then, it is necessary to remain in self-insulation. In the case of a trip to the Czech Republic by individual transport, it is not necessary to have a test before the start of the trip, but it is obligatory to undergo a PCR test no earlier than day 5 and no later than day 14 after entering the territory of the Czech Republic. Self-insulation is required until the result.

Testing conditions and self-isolation on return do not apply to persons who have at least 14 days after full vaccination (14 days after the second dose in the case of a two-dose schedule, 14 days after vaccination in the case of a single dose vaccine) or those who have experienced covid- 19. All they have to do is fill in the Arrival Form.

Vaccination of third-country nationals who have completed vaccination from a non-EU country with a substance approved by the European Medicines Agency or its equivalent vaccine approved by the World Health Organization for emergency use is also recognized. At the same time, these persons must have a verifiable certificate issued, which is published in the list of certificates on the website of the Ministry of Health. It can also be a vaccination from countries for which an implementing act has been concluded and they issue a certificate according to the EU covid regulation. Complete conditions for returning to the Czech Republic from abroad during the covid-19 pandemic can be found here.

You can find a list of countries according to the degree of risk of infection here.

More info

Up-to-date information on COVID-19 is available on our website.

© 2021 Charles University, Faculty of Pharmacy in Hradec Králové | Website information